Ignazio La Russa is the new president of the Senate

Ignazio La Russa is the new president of the Senate

Ignazio La Russa was elected president of the Senate. The senator of the Brothers of Italy obtained 116 votes in favor. Liliana Segre presided over the opening of the Senate and, in her opening speech, recalled the dramatic continuation of the Russian invasion of Ukraine and the racial laws imposed by fascism, underlining how this October 28 marks the centenary of the fascist march on Rome.

At the first call for the election of the Speaker of the Chamber, the Brothers of Italy voted blank, because the votes in the Senate were late due to the absence of Senator Silvio Berlusconi who was at the Interview room with the leader of the Brothers of Italy Giorgia Meloni. The decision to delay the vote is due to the decision to secure the election of Ignazio la Russa in the Senate, before confirming his support for the Northern League's Riccardo Molinari for the presidency of the Chamber. A clear sign of the persistence of some frictions within the right-wing majority.

Furthermore, once the voting for the presidency of the Senate had begun, the entire Forza Italia group, except Silvio Berlusconi and Elisabetta Casellati, would have abstained, thus removing 16 votes from the right-wing coalition. It is not clear where the sufficient votes for the election of La Russa came from. In fact, the entire right-wing coalition has 115 seats in the Senate, 18 of which from Forza Italia. If the two votes of Berlusconi and Casellati are removed from these, there are still 16 votes to be subtracted from the total of 115, which is brought to only 99, not enough to reach the quorum of 104 votes, necessary for the election of the President of the Senate. Which opposition party then provided the 17 votes that came out of the right-wing coalition, which guaranteed the election of La Russa? Everyone denies, in particular Matteo Renzi and Carlo Calenda, who in any case only count 9 senators and senators, who declared that they did not support the right-wing candidate.

The points:

Who is Ignazio La Russa The election of the presidents of the chambers It is Liliana Segre who will preside over the first session of the Senate Politics and survivors will lead the first session of the Senate of the Holocaust Liliana Segre, while the right-most coalition since the end of fascism is preparing to take control of both chambers

Ignazio La Russa

Leading figure of the Italian right since 1971, begins his political activity within the post-fascist party of Giorgio Almirante, the Italian Social Movement (MSI), with which he was elected for the first time to the Chamber in 1992. After the dissolution of the MSI he served in the Alleanza Nazionale, by Gianfranco Fini, and then briefly join the coalition of the People of Freedom (PDL) becoming Minister of Defense in 2008.

After the fall of the last government, Berlusconi abandoned the PDL to found, together with Giorgia Meloni and Guido Crosetto, Fratelli d ' Italy. Collector of relics of the fascist dictatorship, he declared "we are all heirs of the Duce", during a televised debate held in the context of the 2022 electoral campaign, and does not participate in the celebrations of April 25.

What does not work in the new Parliament The combination of the electoral law that was wanted by Renzi and the cut in parliamentarians implemented by the 5 Star Movement risks making parliamentary committees less efficient and slower, further slowing down the process of laws

The election of the Presidents of the Houses

The first action of the new Parliament was to vote the presidents of the Chamber and Senate. The election will take place by secret ballot. In the Chamber, for the first ballot, a two-thirds majority is required, for the second two-thirds are enough, including blank ballots, while from the third ballot onwards, an absolute majority is enough.

In the Senate, on the other hand, election is faster, with an absolute majority required only for the first two ballots, following which a ballot is held between the two most voted candidates if no one has obtained an absolute majority. In the event of equal votes, the oldest person is elected or enters the ballot.

Powered by Blogger.