Tiny Tina's Wonderlands | Review

Tiny Tina's Wonderlands | Review

It was back in 2009 when Borderlands forever marked the looter-shooter genre; this video game, developed by Gearbox and published by 2K Games, owes its success to a skilful union of the First Person Shooter genre with some RPG elements: a level system for the character, the numerical indication of the damage inflicted on a enemy, various status effects such as corrosion, poison, fire ...

After having been consecrated "in the videogame olympus" thanks to the award-winning Borderlands 2, the developers of Gearbox have begun to experiment and add various aspects in a game that serves as a prequel to the second chapter - jokingly titled The Pre-Sequel - a slightly subdued title compared to its predecessor but which still manages to obtain a very specific identity without straying too far from its origins. This ongoing pursuit of innovation takes it one step further with their latest work, Tiny Tina's Wonderlands, a title that takes the idea launched with one of the most beloved DLCs from the second chapter, Assault on Dragon's Keep (recently made standalone and which serves as a demo demo for this game), and expands it into a title based entirely on a fictional Bunker & Badasses campaign. In this parody of Dungeons & Dragons we will be guided by Tiny Tina who, as a Dungeon Master, will lead us through the magical lands of Wonderlands.

Tiny Tina's Wonderlands, not Borderlands

Forget about legends about crypts created by ancient alien civilizations containing great treasures, crypt hunters in search of fame and cruel intergalactic corporations, in Tiny Tina's Wonderlands we will take on the role of a hero destined to perform great deeds, a Tessifato, and we will venture into the magical wastes created by Tina with one goal, to stop the evil Dragon Lord and prevent him from conquering the Wonderlands.

Tiny Tina's Wonderlands

Classes and types of game

One thing that can be seen in Tiny Tina's Wonderlands is how the Gearbox developers have capitalized on the experience gained from previous games by presenting the player with different options. Starting a new game, in fact, you will be able to choose 3 difficulty levels: the Relaxed mode is for players who prefer to enjoy the story because, at this level, 15% more damage is inflicted on enemies and 15% more damage is received. % in less; the Balanced mode has no particular bonuses and is considered the normal difficulty, while in the Intense mode, in addition to taking 15% more damage and inflicting 15% less, you get more gold and lunar globes (a special currency) from enemies and it will be important to use the correct elemental damage against some types of enemies that will be particularly tough to normal hits.

Once you have chosen the desired difficulty, you can choose the behavior of the loot in multiplayer games: With the Cooperative mode each player will see only their own rewards and the latter cannot be taken by the other participants, with the Competitive mode, however, all players will see the same loot and it will be a faster hand war.

Each of these classes will be gifted of skill tree that will enhance the character, moreover, at a certain point in the story it will be possible to choose a second class thus creating a multiclass character that will benefit from the passive abilities present in both trees and you can interchange the different active skills to your liking. Then it will be possible to choose an origin story of the character that will modify some characteristics that role players will know very well: Strength, which increases the damage of critical hits, Dexterity, which will affect the probability that an attack becomes a critical hit, Intelligence will control the cooldown time of spells, Wisdom will modify the percentage of damage dealt by status ailments, Constitution will decide the maximum energy and finally Attunement will reduce the cooldown of class skills. Once you have chosen an "origin story" you will be able to distribute an additional 10 points to your liking among the statistics described above and you will be able to get more points with each level increase.

The Overworld: a return to past

One of the substantial innovations in the gameplay sector is undoubtedly the decision to completely eliminate the transition areas from one macro area to another in favor of a world map that strongly recalls the so-called Overworld of the old Final Fantasy chapters , exiting the first dungeon you will find yourself in a scale version of the entire game world in which there are obstacles, shortcuts, chests containing gold, encampments of enemies, secondary mini dungeons, sanctuaries that once repaired will offer permanent buffs, NPCs , quests and even casual encounters. Walking in the tall grass - clear reference to the Pokémon video game series - there will be the possibility of being attacked by an enemy who will start a fight by teleporting the player to an instance where we should survive several waves of enemies in an arena in where you can find traps that can be a hindrance or be used to your advantage. The same concept is applied to the different secondary dungeons with the difference that they will have a storied structure with increasing difficulty, the only flaw is the lack of variety of the arenas, the reward at the end of everything? But obviously a shower of loot, in full Borderlands style.

Tiny Tina's Wonderlands But that's not all, because what is shown at the beginning is only a small part of the world of game, the map will in fact evolve and expand accordingly with the continuation of the main quest, leaving room for further areas containing new quests, dungeons and macro areas.

Powered by Blogger.